• O’Brien wins Bear Bryant Coach of Year Award

    Penn State’s Bill O’Brien was named Thursday night the winner of the Bear Bryant Coach of the Year Award, the third national honor he’s received after his first season.

    O’Brien, who received the award at a dinner in Houston, won the award over five other finalists: James Franklin of Vanderbilt, Urban Meyer of Ohio State, David Shaw of Stanford, Bill Snyder of Kansas State and Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M.

    Members of the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association vote for the Bryant Award, which has been presented since 1986. Joe Paterno of Penn State was the first winner.

    O’Brien, who led the Nittany Lions to an 8-4 season in the wake of NCAA sanctions, earlier was named the national coach of the year by the Maxwell Club and by ESPN.

    Both comments and pings are currently closed.