• Still named Big Ten Defensive Lineman of Year

    Penn State senior Devon Still was named the Big Ten’s Smith-Brown Defensive Lineman of the Year Monday night.

    The conference coaches and media voted Still to their All-Big Ten first teams.

    Also named to the All-Big Ten coaches first team was junior linebacker Gerald Hodges, who also was selected to the media second team.

    Penn State running back Silas Redd and safety Nick Sukay made the coaches and media second teams.

    Defensive end Jack Crawford (coaches) and kicker Anthony Fera (media) also were named to the second team.

    Nine other Penn State players received honorable mention: safety Drew Astorino, offensive tackle Quinn Barham, defensive tackle Jordan Hill, cornerback D’Anton Lynn, wide receiver Derek Moye, offensive tackle Chima Okoli, cornerback Chaz Powell, linebacker Nate Stupar and offensive guard Johnnie Troutman.

    Crawford and Fera also received honorable mention, Crawford from the media and Fera from the coaches.

    The Big Ten will announce the winners for Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year on Wednesday.

    Both comments and pings are currently closed.